Rotate your device!

Rotate your device!

Management Interview

We are on a very promising path.

In view of the COVID-19 pandemic, we have not carried out a Management Board photo shoot this year and instead are making use of existing photo material.

The financial year 2019/20 is behind us. Looking back, how did it develop overall?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Operationally, we can be quite satisfied. We dealt with the issues we intended to address. We made progress on the implementation of our strategy and our plants are well on track. In terms of volume, our capacity was not utilised to the extent planned, but I think we used the year well to prepare for future challenges. Economically, we certainly did not meet all our goals. However, we were also faced with a challenging operating environment. In the automotive sector, uncertainties about the future of the powertrain dampened demand. The trade conflict between the USA and China continued, though at a lower level. And European industry investment behaviour remained at an unexpectedly weak level. On top of that, we saw the outbreak of COVID-­19 in the final quarter, which forced us to temporarily close plants in China.

What does that mean in terms of actual figures?

Monika Stoisser-Göhring That we fell short of expectations on the earnings side. We surpassed the one-billion-euro revenue mark once again. However, revenue was 2.7% lower than in the previous year. At least the EBITDA margin, at 19.4%, was within our adjusted target corridor of 18 to 20%. Earnings per share amounted to € 0.34 after interest on hybrid capital, which was significantly lower than last year. Along with unexpectedly difficult market conditions, this was also due to the intense prep­ aration for the strategic expansion of our business.

Andreas Gerstenmayer At the beginning of the fourth quarter, we were still confident in the Management Board that we would meet our guidance for revenue and earnings. And we have done everything possible in the last few months to achieve this goal. In particular, we reacted very rapidly to COVID-­19. Wherever we could influence something, we did. I even think that we were able to keep the economic impact low due to our measures. This could well have ended very differently. We were among the first companies, if not the first, to resume production. At our Chongqing I plant we never stopped production, even with all the official measures imposed.

Despite low earnings figures you are planning to pay out a dividend again this year.

Monika Stoisser-Göhring That’s correct. Against the background of the solid business development, we will propose a dividend of € 0.25 per share to this year’s Annual General Meeting, together with the Supervisory Board. Even though the current market situation is currently rather unclear due to the exceptional circumstances. And because we are deeply convinced that based on our position and the course we are pursuing, we are excellently prepared for the future.

Monika Stoisser-Göhring

CFO

"We are deeply convinced that based on our position and the course we are pursuing, we are excellently prepared for the future."

How are AT&S’s activities in the strategic areas 5G, IC substrates and big data developing?

Andreas Gerstenmayer We made considerable progress in all three areas. In the area of 5G we used to focus primarily on mainboards for mobile devices. We now have the first contracts for printed circuit boards for modules and are discussing topics such as 5G base stations and antenna technology with infrastructure providers. That means that we can address significantly more applications today than even a year ago. In the area of IC substrates, we made major investment decisions and created the basis enabling us to be present in precisely those markets that will grow in the coming years. This is also underscored by the decision to build Chongqing III. We will be able to produce large volumes of the latest technologies very soon. And thanks to our strength in the area of IC substrates, we are also in a good position for big data. As data volumes explode, we will see very attractive jobs in the years to come.

Which industries will be the first to recover from the crisis?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Similar to the damage in the industries, it is also very difficult to estimate which sector will be the first to bounce back: will it be capital goods or rather consumer goods? One thing we can perhaps say is that anything related to infrastructure will pick up sooner. This is because, from experience, states deliberately provide impetus in these areas to reduce unemployment, increase purchasing power and ultimately boost the economy again.

Heinz Moitzi We can also assume that the topic of 5G will gain momentum: we are currently experiencing how fast people get used to digital communication in everyday business. For many employees, working from home and video conferences did not even feature as a topic only a few months ago. Today they use these tools as a matter of course – with all the restrictions this entails. One thing has become clear: today’s network infrastructure is not at all sufficient for digital working. This will be the next big push.

"Today’s network infrastructure is not at all sufficient for digital working." Heinz Moitzi

The automotive industry has been particularly hard hit by the shutdown. How do you see this situation from the angle of AT&S?

Andreas Gerstenmayer This is another area where it is difficult to assess how strong the impact is – and to what extent we will be affected at the end of the day. But we definitely assume that there will be effects. In the car market in particular, we will have to watch the development very carefully in the coming months. This is a market with a complex supply chain, which has recently ground to a halt. I think that this segment will tend to take longer to recover.

Have you adapted or sharpened your strategy at all in view of COVID-19?

Andreas Gerstenmayer We have worked very intensively on our strategy over the past few years. We are sure that the topics we aim to implement as part of our mid-term strategy are still valid. I don’t see any aspect in any of our strategic focus areas that would make the topics obsolete. On the contrary: the trends we see are sustainably intact. Only in terms of timing there may be delays in one place or another due to the extraordinary situation the global economy is facing.

"Our equity ratio is very solid at 41% and our debt repayment period – at 1.3 ­years – is significantly below our self-imposed maximum of three years." Monika Stoisser-Göhring

And with respect to the economic positioning – do you see any need for adjustment?

Monika Stoisser-Göhring No. AT&S continues to be very stable economically: our equity ratio is very solid at 41% and our debt repayment period – at 1.3 years – is significantly below our self-imposed maximum of three years. In terms of investments, everything is consistent with our plans; because of changes in the content of our projects, we spent around € 90 million less in the past financial year than originally budgeted. In accordance with our scheduling, we were able to largely finance our investments from our own resources in the past financial year. Should we actually require additional funds for our projects, we have different options. It goes without saying that we put a particular focus on costs in times like these. As a precaution, but also because we still aspire to serve the main part of our capital requirements for our projects from our cash flow.

Ms Stoisser-Göhring, you recently received the CFO Award. That proves that you do many things right ...

Monika Stoisser-Göhring It shows that AT&S does many things right. Within the Management Board we act based on good cooperation and a shared understanding. Against this background, a lot can be done in finance. I think that finance tools such as hybrid bonds and promissory note loans, which were recently introduced at AT&S, are part of the standard portfolio in modern corporate finance. Starting business relationships with Chinese banks has also been a logical step for us. The vast majority of our non­current assets is based in Asia and we know the market and the mentality of its people well. By working together in finance we gain important trust, not only among the banks.

To what extent will the changed market situation bring new opportunities for AT&S, for example in medical technology?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Of course we look at the markets differently in a changed situation and check out additional opportunities, also in the medical sector. We have to admit, however, that many of the things which are in great demand right now use standard technologies that we very deliberately did not address in the past. But of course we are also looking for ways to help in the current situation. This is why we are now producing components for local medical technology manufacturers at our plant in India despite the shutdown.

Advanced applications, for example for pacemakers, hearing aids or insulin pumps, continue to be very interesting for us. This is where our future market lies, and consequently we are focusing on this market with our comprehensive technology upgrade at our plant in Ansan, South Korea.

With the investments in Ansan and, above all, in Chongqing, AT&S is opening the door to its second billion in revenue. Where will your employees come from?

Monika Stoisser-Göhring That is a demanding task, especially since it is important to recruit employees with the appropriate skills. We need people who deal with the technical side of megatrends such as autonomous driving and digital networking. To bring these people on board, we have set up the “Talent Mapping” project. We have defined the expertise we will need in the future within this project so that we can now address professionals in areas like microelectronics, RF/IC design, chemistry and physics in a targeted manner. The project will be accompanied by an international talent programme, through which we send graduates of technical studies to China for a period of time after they have completed a year of training with us.

The young generation nowadays increasingly chooses employers based on their value profile ...

Monika Stoisser-Göhring That is a good thing, because values are also important to us. We believe that a stable foundation of values is a necessary prerequisite for long­ term success. That is why we put a strong focus on topics such as sustainability, governance and diversity and set ambitious targets: for example, we aim to raise the share of women from 21% today to 30% by 2025.

Heinz Moitzi In our production, we are already operating at a high level in terms of environmental matters and work safety. But we also see room for improvement in this area: we aim to cover 80% of our energy supply with renewable energies in the future. And we are planning a life cycle assessment for our product groups in the future.

You are also entering aerospace technology now. What are the prospects in this segment?

Heinz Moitzi This has evolved over the last few years and shows that we can keep adding “new” segments to our core business. We have acquired a very demanding certification (NADCAP) which is required for supplying the aerospace industry, because we are aware that part of the communication infrastructure also goes into space. We have learned that our technologies can help these industries to cost­effectively implement miniaturisation and weight reduction, which are increasingly gaining importance in this segment, too.

Andreas Gerstenmayer In this context, the 5G development should also be mentioned. How will network providers cost­effectively reach those who do not live in conurbations in the future? At the end of the day, it will only be possible using satellite technology. Communication satellites, transmission stations, antenna technology, satellite launches – we can make a small, but important contribution with our solutions in all of these areas.

Andreas Gerstenmayer

CEO

"Communication satellites, transmission stations, antenna technology, satellite launches – we can make a small, but important contribution."

Europe is occasionally said to have a need to catch up as a location for innovation. To what extent does that limit AT&S in its development?

Heinz Moitzi I would not quite put it that way that Europe lags behind other continents. Working on electronic innovation is a global business for a company of our size today. Thanks to its global positioning, AT&S can combine the advantages of Asia, the USA and Europe well. We collaborate with universities and electronics institutions on different continents: in Germany, for example, we work with the Fraunhofer Institute and in the USA with the International Electronics Manufacturing Initiative (iNEMI), and of course we also collaborate with Austrian universities. On top of that, we work very closely with our customers in development.

Industrial production is where Europe has a need to catch up: a region which only does research but has no production is blind on one eye. However, the EU has now realised that and is promoting basic technologies again. This creates the basis for bringing back some parts of the supply chain, after it moved to Asia around the turn of the millennium. As digitalisation increases, cost differences can be balanced out better in Europe. Here, AT&S is already in a very good position. Leoben has been, and will remain, a central location for us as a production site and research centre for special applications.

What new technological potential do you see for the future?

Heinz Moitzi First of all, let me say that AT&S is moving in technology segments today that we could only dream of even a few years ago. And our development is rapidly progressing. Let’s take miniaturisation for example: Today we operate in the range of trace widths of 10μm and with more than 1,000 laser drillings per second, with a diameter of 40μm or less. In some areas we are already advancing to the nano segment, getting in close contact with semiconductors. That means that we are currently on the threshold to new technological territory. Developing the appropriate technologies for this is a demanding job. But it has always been one of AT&S’s skills to see what needs to be done and develop the right solutions. Where possible, we do this on our own, and where useful, we collaborate with partners.

Heinz Moitzi

COO

"It has always been one of AT&S’s skills to see what needs to be done and develop the right solutions."

COVID-19 has put the industry in crisis mode over night. How did the crisis management work out at AT&S?

Andreas Gerstenmayer I think we can pay a huge compliment to all our teams at all locations. In China, we managed to at least produce at one plant, even during the peak of the crisis – even if it was not with the full staff. We were also able to restart operations at the other plants after a relatively short period of time. While other factories were still shut down, we were able to produce significant volumes again.

Heinz Moitzi What helped us was that we had been properly sensitised after SARS in 2003. We responded quickly and took initial measures in December and were able to cope with a variety of issues based on sophisticated crisis management within a very short period of time: implementing safety concepts, reorganising logistics and meeting official requirements. The well-coordinated processes helped us not only in China, but also in India, South Korea and Austria. At no time did we have problems with protective masks and to this day we don’t know of a single infection in our company.

Sounds almost easy ...

Heinz Moitzi Of course it was not quite that easy. What I mean to say is that the critical topics were not so much the processes at our production sites – we managed to create the appropriate framework conditions very quickly at the workplaces and in the canteens. Supply chain topics, for example, were more challenging. If you want to set up machines while travel restrictions are in place and service technicians have to undergo quarantine for safety reasons, no manual will have the advice you need, but you have to find effective solutions fast.

The year 2020/21: How is AT&S approaching the current year? Can the medium-term forecast be maintained in the current situation?

Andreas Gerstenmayer In 2020/21 we will have to “drive by sight” and permanently review our assumptions – at monthly rather than quarterly intervals. With COVID-19 we are currently learning in the global economy that things can literally change over night. But this situation does not mean that we will reduce capacity in production or discontinue our future programmes. From today’s perspective our strategy is intact and sufficiently robust to support the medium­term guidance: doubling revenue with an EBITDA margin of 25% to 30%.

As responsible entrepreneurs, we of course have to review this again and again, and make decisions: are our key indicators still correct or do we have to make adjustments? What we can do right now is to get through the current phase as well as possible. To this end, we are very restrictive on current spending. At the same time, we keep driving our strategic projects for IC substrates and modules.

"From today’s perspective our strategy is intact and sufficiently robust to support the medium-term guidance: doubling revenue with an EBITDA margin of 25% to 30%." Andreas Gerstenmayer

Rotate your device!

Drehen Sie Ihr Gerät!

Interview mit dem Vorstand

Wir befinden uns auf einem sehr aussichtsreichen Weg.

Vor dem Hintergrund von COVID-19 haben wir in diesem Jahr auf ein Vorstandsshooting verzichtet und greifen hier auf bereits be­stehendes Bildmaterial zurück.

DAS GESCHÄFTSJAHR 2019/20 LIEGT HINTER UNS. WIE HAT ES SICH IM GESAMTRÜCKBLICK ENTWICKELT?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Operativ können wir soweit zufrieden sein. Die Themen, die wir uns vorgenommen haben, haben wir realisiert. Wir sind mit der Umsetzung unserer Strategie weitergekommen und unsere Werke befinden sich auf einem guten Weg. Volumenmäßig waren wir nicht so gut ausgelastet wie geplant. Aber ich denke: Wir haben das Jahr gut genutzt, um uns auf künftige Herausforderungen vorzubereiten. Wirtschaftlich haben wir unsere Ziele sicherlich nicht alle erreicht. Wir waren aber auch mit herausfordernden Rahmenbedingungen konfrontiert: Im Automobilbereich drückten Unsicherheiten über die Zukunft des Antriebsstrangs auf die Nachfrage. Der Handelskrieg zwischen den USA und China setzte sich, wenn auch auf niedrigerem Niveau fort. Und das Investitionsverhalten in der europäischen Industrie verharrte weiter auf einem unerwartet schwachen Niveau. Hinzu kam im Schlussquartal COVID-19, der uns in China zu vorübergehenden Werksschließungen zwang.

UND DAS BEDEUTET FÜR DIE KONKRETEN ZAHLEN?

Monika Stoisser-Göhring Dass wir auf der Ertragsseite hinter unseren Erwartungen zurückgeblieben sind: Beim Umsatz konnten wir zwar ein weiteres Mal die Eine-Milliarde-Euro-Grenze überschreiten. Gegenüber dem Vorjahr gab er um 2,7 % nach. Die EBITDA-Marge lag mit 19,4 % immerhin innerhalb unseres angepassten Zielkorridors von 18 bis 20 %. Das Ergebnis je Aktie betrug unter Abzug der Hybridkapitalzinsen 0,34 €. Es lag damit deutlich unter dem Wert des Vorjahrs. Zu den Gründen für diese Werte zählen neben den unerwartet schwierigen Marktbedingungen die intensiven Vorbereitungen für den strategischen Ausbau des Geschäfts.

Andreas Gerstenmayer Zu Anfang des vierten Quartals waren wir im Vorstand noch zuversichtlich, unsere Guidance für Umsatz und Ergebnis halten zu können. Und wir haben in den vergangenen Monaten alles dafür getan, um dieses Ziel zu erreichen. So haben wir insbesondere auch auf COVID-19 sehr schnell reagiert. Das, was wir beeinflussen konnten, haben wir getan. Ich glaube sogar, dass wir mit unseren Maßnahmen den wirtschaftlichen Effekt klein halten konnten. Das hätte ganz anders ausgehen können. Wir waren unter den ersten, wenn nicht die ersten, die wieder produziert haben. Am Standort in Chongqing I haben wir sogar mit allen Auflagen durchproduziert.

TROTZ DER NIEDRIGEN ERGEBNISZAHLEN PLANEN SIE AUCH FÜR DIESES JAHR WIEDER EINE DIVIDENDENZAHLUNG.

Monika Stoisser-Göhring Das ist richtig: Vor dem Hintergrund der soliden Geschäftsentwicklung werden wir zusammen mit dem Aufsichtsrat der diesjährigen Hauptversammlung eine Dividende von 0,25 € je Aktie vorschlagen. Obwohl die aktuelle Marktsituation aufgrund des globalen Ausnahmezustands gerade eher unübersichtlich ist. Und weil wir fest davon überzeugt sind, dass wir aus unserer Aufstellung und mit unserem Kurs sehr gut auf die Zukunft vorbereitet sind.

Monika Stoisser-Göhring

CFO

„Wir sind fest davon überzeugt, dass wir aus unserer Aufstellung und mit unserem Kurs sehr gut auf die Zukunft vorbereitet sind.“

WIE ENTWICKELN SICH DIE AT&S AKTIVITÄTEN IN DEN STRATEGISCHEN FELDERN 5G, IC-SUBSTRATE UND BIG DATA?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Wir sind in allen drei Bereichen ein gutes Stück vorangekommen: Im Bereich 5G waren wir bisher vor allem auf Mainboards für mobile Endgeräte fokussiert. Inzwischen haben wir hier erste Aufträge für Modulleiterplatten und sprechen mit Infrastrukturanbietern über Themen wie 5G-Basisstationen und Antennentechnologie. Das heißt: Wir können heute deutlich mehr Applikationen adressieren als noch vor einem Jahr. Bei den IC-Substraten haben wir mit den großen Investitionsentscheidungen die Voraussetzungen dafür geschaffen, dass wir zukünftig genau in den Märkten vertreten sein können, die in den kommenden Jahren wachsen werden. Der Entschluss für den Bau von Chongqing III stärkt dies noch einmal. Wir werden schon sehr bald die neuesten Technologien in großen Volumina produzieren können. Und durch unsere Stärke im Bereich der IC-Substrate sind wir auch für das Thema Big Data gut positioniert. Die explodierenden Datenvolumina werden uns in den kommenden Jahren attraktive Aufgaben auf den Tisch bringen.

WELCHE BRANCHEN WERDEN SICH VON DER KRISE BESONDERS SCHNELL ERHOLEN KÖNNEN?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Ebenso schwer wie der Schaden in den Branchen lässt sich abschätzen, welcher Bereich sich am schnellsten wieder erholen wird: ist es eher der Investitionsgüterbereich oder eher der Konsumbereich? Was man vielleicht sagen kann ist, dass sich alles, was sich auf Infrastruktur bezieht, früher wieder anziehen wird. Dies deshalb, weil Staaten nach Krisen erfahrungsgemäß an diesen Stellen bewusst Impulse setzen, um die Arbeitslosigkeit zu reduzieren, die Kaufkraft zu erhöhen und letztlich die Konjunktur wieder anzukurbeln.

Heinz Moitzi Zudem kann man davon ausgehen, dass das Thema 5G nun verstärkten Rückenwind bekommt: Wir erleben gerade, wie schnell sich die Menschen an die digitale Kommunikation im Geschäftsalltag gewöhnen. Für viele Beschäftigte waren Homeoffice und Videokonferenzen noch vor wenigen Monaten kein Thema. Heute nutzen sie diese Instrumente mit großer Selbstverständlichkeit – mit allen Einschränkungen. Denn klar ist auch: Für die virtuellen Arbeitsweisen reicht die heutige Netzinfrastruktur bei Weitem noch nicht aus. Das wird der nächste Schub sein, der in nächster Zeit auf uns zukommt.

„Für die virtuellen Arbeitsweisen reicht die heutige Netzinfrastruktur bei Weitem noch nicht aus.“ Heinz Moitzi

DIE AUTOMOBILINDUSTRIE LEIDET ZURZEIT BESONDERS STARK UNTER DEM „SHUTDOWN“. WIE BLICKEN SIE AUF DIESE SITUATION AUS AT&S PERSPEKTIVE?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Auch hier ist es so, dass wir schwer abschätzen können, wie stark die Auswirkungen sind – und wie sehr es uns wirklich am Ende treffen wird. Aber wir gehen hier definitiv von Effekten aus. Gerade im Fahrzeugmarkt werden wir aufmerksam beobachten müssen, wie sich die kommenden Monate entwickeln. Es handelt sich hier um einen Markt mit einer komplexen Lieferkette, die zuletzt stark ins Stocken geraten ist. Ich glaube, dass in diesem Bereich eine Erholung vergleichsweise länger braucht.

HABEN SIE ANGESICHTS COVID-19 IHRE STRATEGIE AN IRGENDEINER STELLE NOCH EINMAL ANGEPASST ODER GESCHÄRFT?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Wir haben uns in den vergangenen Jahren sehr intensiv mit unserer Strategie beschäftigt. Und wir sind uns sicher, dass die Themen, die wir mit unserer Mittelfriststrategie umsetzen wollen, weiter ihre Gültigkeit haben. Ich sehe bei keinem unserer strategischen Schwerpunkte irgendetwas, was die Themen obsolet werden lassen würde. Im Gegenteil: Die Trends, die wir sehen, sind nachhaltig intakt. Einzig beim Timing kann es aufgrund der besonderen Situation in der globalen Ökonomie an der einen oder anderen Stelle zu Verschiebungen kommen.

UND HINSICHTLICH DER WIRTSCHAFTLICHEN AUFSTELLUNG, SEHEN SIE HIER ANPASSUNGSBEDARF?

Monika Stoisser-Göhring Nein. AT&S steht wirtschaftlich weiter sehr stabil da: Unsere Eigenkapitalquote ist mit 41 % grundsolide und unsere Entschuldungsdauer liegt mit 1,3 Jahren deutlich unter dem von uns definierten Maximalwert von drei Jahren. Auch bei den Investitionen läuft alles im Rahmen unserer Planungen, wobei wir aufgrund inhaltlicher Veränderungen in den Projekten im Geschäftsjahr etwa 90 Mio. € weniger als vorgesehen ausgegeben haben. Entsprechend unseren Dispositionen konnten wir unseren Investitionsbedarf auch im vergangenen Geschäftsjahr weitgehend aus eigener Kraft finanzieren. Sollten wir für die Umsetzung unserer Vorhaben tatsächlich zusätzliche Mittel benötigen, stehen uns unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung. Dass wir in Phasen wie diesen besonders genau auf die Kostenseite schauen, versteht sich von selbst. Aus Vorsichtsgründen, aber auch, weil es unser Anspruch bleibt, dass wir den Großteil des Kapitalbedarfs für unsere Projekte aus unserem Cashflow bedienen.

„Unsere Eigenkapitalquote ist mit 41 % grundsolide und unsere Entschuldungsdauer liegt mit 1,3 Jahren deutlich unter dem von uns definierten Maximalwert von drei Jahren.“ Monika Stoisser-Göhring

FRAU STOISSER-GÖHRING: SIE WURDEN JÜNGST MIT DEM CFO-AWARD AUSGEZEICHNET. DAS ZEIGT, DASS SIE VIEL RICHTIG MACHEN...

Monika Stoisser-Göhring Es zeigt, dass AT&S einiges richtig macht. Wir handeln im Vorstand über ein gutes Zusammenspiel und aus einem gemeinsamen Verständnis heraus. Vor diesem Hintergrund lässt sich auch im Finanzbereich einiges bewegen. Ich denke, dass die zuletzt bei AT&S eingeführten Finanzinstrumente Hybridanleihe und Schuldscheindarlehen in der modernen Corporate Finance zum Standardportfolio gehören. Und auch die Aufnahme von Geschäftsbeziehungen zu chinesischen Banken ist für uns ein folgerichtiger Schritt. Der weit überwiegende Teil unseres Anlagevermögens arbeitet in Asien und wir kennen den Markt und die Mentalität seiner Menschen gut. Über die Zusammenarbeit im Finanzbereich gewinnen wir wichtiges Vertrauen – nicht nur bei den Banken.

INWIEFERN ERGEBEN SICH FÜR AT&S AUS DER VERÄNDERTEN MARKTLAGE NEUE CHANCEN, ZUM BEISPIEL IN DER MEDIZINTECHNIK?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Natürlich schauen wir uns in einer veränderten Situation auch die Märkte anders an und prüfen zusätzliche Opportunitäten – auch im medizinischen Bereich. Man muss aber zugeben: Vieles von dem, was jetzt besonders gebraucht wird, verwendet Standardtechnologien, die wir bisher sehr bewusst nicht adressiert haben. Aber natürlich suchen wir im Moment auch hier Wege, über die wir in der gegenwärtigen Lage mithelfen können. Das ist ja auch der Grund, warum wir in unserem indischen Werk derzeit trotz des Shutdowns Komponenten für lokale medizintechnische Hersteller produzieren.

Für uns besonders interessant bleiben weiterhin die anspruchsvollen Applikationen, etwa für Herzschrittmacher, Hörgeräte oder Insulinpumpen. Hier ist für uns der Zukunftsmarkt, auf den wir uns mit unserem umfangreichen Technologie-Upgrade an unserem südkoreanischen Standort Ansan auch entsprechend einstellen.

MIT DEN INVESTITIONEN IN ANSAN UND VOR ALLEM MIT DENEN IN CHONGQING STÖSST AT&S DIE TÜR ZUR ZWEITEN UMSATZMILLIARDE AUF. WOHER WERDEN SIE DIE MITARBEITER NEHMEN?

Monika Stoisser-Göhring Das ist eine anspruchsvolle Aufgabe, da es insbesondere darum geht, Mitarbeiter mit den richtigen Kompetenzen zu gewinnen. Wir brauchen Mitarbeiter, die sich von der technischen Seite mit Megatrends wie autonomes Fahren oder digitaler Vernetzung beschäftigen. Um diese an Bord zu bekommen, haben wir das Projekt „Talent Mapping“ aufgesetzt. Darin haben wir die von uns zukünftig benötigten Kompetenzen definiert, sodass wir nun gezielt entsprechende Professionals aus Bereichen wie Mikroelektronik, RF/IC-Design, Chemie und Physik ansprechen können. Flankiert wird das Projekt von einem internationalen Talentprogramm, über das wir Absolventen technischer Studienrichtungen nach einem Jahr Ausbildung bei uns für einen gewissen Zeitraum nach China schicken.

DIE JUNGE GENERATION SUCHT SICH IHREN ARBEITGEBER HEUTE AUCH IMMER MEHR NACH SEINEM WERTEPROFIL AUS...

Monika Stoisser-Göhring Das ist gut, denn Werte sind auch uns wichtig. Wir sind der Auffassung, dass ein stabiles Wertefundament eine notwendige Bedingung für langfristigen Erfolg ist. Deshalb schenken wir Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit, Governance und Diversity eine hohe Aufmerksamkeit und setzen uns anspruchsvolle Ziele: So soll der Frauenanteil bis 2025 von jetzt 34 % auf 45 % erhöht werden.

Heinz Moitzi In unserer Produktion fahren wir bereits heute auf einem hohen Umwelt- und Arbeitssicherheitslevel. Aber auch dieses wollen wir weiter verbessern: Unsere Energieversorgung soll zukünftig zu 80 % aus erneuerbarer Energie erfolgen. Und für unsere Produktgruppen planen wir zukünftig eine Ökobilanzierung.

SIE GEHEN JETZT AUCH IN DIE WELTRAUMTECHNOLOGIE. WELCHE PERSPEKTIVEN VERSPRECHEN SIE SICH HIER?

Heinz Moitzi Das hat sich über die vergangenen Jahre entwickelt und zeigt, dass wir unser Kerngeschäft immer wieder um „neue“ Bereiche ergänzen können. Wir haben die für Belieferung der Luft- und Raumfahrt erforderliche sehr anspruchsvolle Zertifizierung (NADCAP) erworben, weil wir sehen, dass ein Teil der Kommunikationsinfrastruktur auch ins Weltall wandert. Dabei haben wir gelernt, dass unsere Technologien diesen Industrien helfen können, die auch hier wichtiger werdende Miniaturisierung und Gewichtsreduktion kosteneffizient umzusetzen.

Andreas Gerstenmayer In diesen Kontext passt auch die 5G-Entwicklung: Wie erreichen die Netzbetreiber in Zukunft wirtschaftlich diejenigen, die nicht in den Ballungsräumen leben? Dies wird am Ende des Tages nur mit Satelliten-Technologie gehen. Kommunikationssatelliten, Übertragungsstationen, Antennentechnologie, Launch der Satelliten – überall hier können wir mit unseren Lösungen einen kleinen, aber wichtigen Beitrag leisten.

Andreas Gerstenmayer

CEO

„Kommunikationssatelliten, Übertragungsstationen, Antennentechnologie, Launch der Satelliten – überall hier können wir mit unseren Lösungen einen kleinen, aber wichtigen Beitrag leisten.“

EUROPA SAGT MAN ALS INNOVATIONSSTANDORT ZUWEILEN NACHHOLBEDARF NACH. INWIEFERN SCHRÄNKT DAS AT&S IN SEINER ENTWICKLUNG EIN?

Heinz Moitzi Dass Europa gegenüber anderen Kontinenten rückständig sei, kann man so nicht sagen. Die elektronische Innovationsarbeit ist für Unternehmen unserer Größe heute ein weltweites Geschäft. Und durch seine globale Aufstellung kann AT&S die Vorteile von Asien, USA und Europa gut miteinander verbinden. Wir kooperieren mit Hochschulen und Elektronikeinrichtungen auf unterschiedlichen Kontinenten: in Deutschland zum Beispiel mit dem Fraunhofer Institut und in den USA mit der Elektronikvereinigung iNEMI (International Electronics Manufacturing Initiative) und natürlich mit den österreichischen Universitäten. Darüber hinaus arbeiten wir in der Entwicklung sehr eng mit unseren Kunden zusammen.

Nachholbedarf besitzt Europa im Bereich der industriellen Fertigung: Eine Region, die nur forscht und nicht fertigt,ist auf einem Auge blind. Dies hat die EU aber inzwischen erkannt und fördert auch wieder Basistechnologien. Dies schafft die Voraussetzung dafür, die Supply Chain, die zur Jahrtausendwende nach Asien abgewandert ist, wieder ein Stück weit zurückzuholen. Mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung lässt sich in Europa der Kostenunterschied immer besser ausgleichen. Aber auch hier ist AT&S bereits jetzt sehr gut aufgestellt. Leoben war und bleibt für uns ein zentraler Standort für die Produktion und als Forschungszentrale von speziellen Anwendungen.

WELCHE NEUEN TECHNOLOGISCHEN POTENZIALE SEHEN SIE FÜR DIE ZUKUNFT?

Heinz Moitzi Zunächst kann man sagen: AT&S bewegt sich heute technologisch in Bereichen, von denen wir vor wenigen Jahren nur geträumt haben. Und unsere Entwicklung geht in rasantem Tempo weiter. Zum Beispiel bei der Miniaturisierung: Wir operieren heute in Größenordnungen bei Leiterzugsbreiten von 10 μm und mit mehr als 1.000 Laserbohrungen je Sekunde mit einem Durchmesser von kleiner gleich 40 μm. In manchen Bereichen dringen wir aber auch schon in den Nanobereich vor und nehmen dementsprechend Tuchfühlung mit Halbleiterthemen auf. Das heißt: Wir stehen gerade an der Schwelle zu neuem technologischen Terrain. Die passenden Technologien dafür zu entwickeln ist anspruchsvoll. Aber es war schon immer eine Kompetenz von AT&S, neue Aufgaben zu sehen und Lösungen dafür zu entwickeln. Dies tun wir wo möglich aus eigener Kraft und wo sinnvoll in Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern.

Heinz Moitzi

COO

„Es war schon immer eine Kompetenz von AT&S, neue Aufgaben zu sehen und Lösungen dafür zu entwickeln.“

COVID-19 HAT DIE INDUSTRIE ÜBER NACHT IN DEN KRISENMODUS GESETZT: WIE LIEF DAS KRISENMANAGEMENT BEI AT&S?

Andreas Gerstenmayer Ich glaube, hier dürfen wir unseren Teams an allen Standorten ein Riesenkompliment aussprechen. Wir haben es in China geschafft, selbst in der höchsten Krisenphase zumindest in einem Werk zu produzieren – wenn auch nicht mit voller Mannschaft. Und auch die anderen Werke konnten wir in relativ kurzer Zeit wieder in Betrieb nehmen. In einer Phase, in der die anderen Fabriken noch standen, konnten wir bereits wieder nennenswert produzieren.

Heinz Moitzi Dabei half uns, dass wir nach SARS 2003 entsprechend sensibilisiert waren. So haben wir bereits im Dezember erste Maßnahmen ergriffen und konnten mit einem ausgeklügelten Krisenmanagement in kürzester Zeit eine Vielzahl von Themen bewältigen: Das Umsetzen von Sicherheitskonzepten, die Reorganisation der Logistik, das Erfüllen von Behördenauflagen. Die gut abgestimmten Abläufe haben uns nicht nur in China geholfen, sondern auch in Indien, Südkorea und Österreich. Wir hatten zu keiner Zeit Probleme mit Schutzmasken und uns ist bis heute kein Infektionsfall bekannt.

DAS KLINGT GERADEZU LEICHT...

Heinz Moitzi Ganz so einfach war es natürlich nicht. Was ich damit sagen will, ist: Die kritischen Themen waren nicht so sehr die Abläufe in unseren Produktionsstätten. Hier konnten wir schnell die passenden Rahmenbedingungen schaffen: an den Arbeitsplätzen und in den Kantinen. Anspruchsvoll war es zum Beispiel bei Themen der Supply Chain. Wenn Sie unter Reisebeschränkungen Maschinen aufbauen wollen und Servicetechniker aus Sicherheitsgründen in die Quarantäne müssen, dann können Sie nicht ins Handbuch schauen, sondern müssen schnell und wirksam Lösungen finden.

DAS JAHR 2020/21: WIE STELLT SICH AT&S AUF DAS LAUFENDE JAHR EIN? LÄSST SICH DIE MITTELFRISTPROGNOSE IN DER AKTUELLEN SITUATION HALTEN?

Andreas Gerstenmayer 2020/21 wird ein Jahr, in dem wir auf Sicht fahren und unsere Annahmen permanent prüfen müssen: nicht im Quartals-, sondern im Monatsrhythmus. Mit COVID-19 lernen wir gegenwärtig in der Weltwirtschaft, dass sich die Dinge buchstäblich über Nacht ändern können. Diese Situation führt aber nicht dazu, dass wir in unserer Produktion Kapazität herausnehmen oder unsere Zukunftsprogramme einstellen. Nach unserer heutigen Auffassung ist unsere Strategie intakt und robust genug, die Mittelfristprognose zu unterstützen: Verdopplung des Umsatzes bei einer EBITDA-Marge von 25 bis 30 %.

Als verantwortungsvolle Unternehmer müssen wir auch das natürlich immer wieder prüfen und entscheiden: Stimmen unsere Schlüsselindikatoren noch oder müssen wir Korrekturen anbringen? Was wir im Moment tun können ist, so gut wie möglich durch die aktuelle Phase zu kommen. Dazu gehen wir mit den laufenden Ausgaben restriktiv um. Gleichzeitig treiben wir unsere strategischen Projekte bei IC-Substraten und Modulen zügig voran.

„Nach unserer heutigen Auffassung ist unsere Strategie intakt und robust genug, die Mittelfristprognose zu unterstützen: Verdopplung des Umsatzes bei einer EBITDA-Marge von 25 bis 30%.“ Andreas Gerstenmayer